In Memory of Notorious B.I.G…. 14 Years Later

This blog post is dedicated to Christopher Wallace, A.K.A Notorious B.I.G  the anniversary of his death on March 9th 1997. When I first started my design work back in 2005 I made a Biggie Smalls painting that got into the hands of his good friend and producer Diddy a.k.a Sean Combs. A year later MTV had a special on Biggie Smalls and sure enough my painting was in the background. Luckily, my friend had PVR, paused the interview and took a picture of the screen with his camera. This is definitely one of the most exciting things I’ve experienced in my art career so far.

The piece I made below was a handmade Acrylic Painting sized 3ft wide and 4ft tall. Now I’m planning to do something in 3D Plexiglass of Biggie Smalls and somehow get it to Diddy again: perhaps an art piece for The Bad Boy Records Studio.

Notorious BIG Acrylic Hand Painting By Adnan Elladen on MTV Featuring Snoop Dogg

Notorious BIG Acrylic Hand Painting By Adnan Elladen

Notorious B.I.G  was killed by an unknown assailant in a drive-by shooting in Los Angeles. His double-disc set Life After Death, released 15 days later, hit #1 on the U.S. album charts and was certified Diamond in 2000. Notorious B.I.G  was noted for his “loose, easy flow”, dark semi-autobiographical lyrics and storytelling abilities. Since his death, a further two albums have been released. MTV ranked him at #3 on their list of The Greatest MCs (Rappers) of All Time.

Below are some art pieces I made in tribute to the Born Again Album

Official Born Again Album Cover

Born Again Cover - 4 Piece By Adnan Elladen

Born Again Cover Painting by Adnan Elladen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment